‘Operation Amotekun’, Not Military Wing Of OPC –Aare-In-Council

LAGOS – The highest decision making organ of the 15th Aare Onakakanfo of Yorubaland, The Aare-in-Council, has dismissed claims that the newly launched security outfit in the Southwest ‘Operation Amotekun’, is a military wing of the Oodua Peoples Congress (OPC). 

The council, which stated this in a communiqué issued after its quarterly meeting, held in Lagos on Sunday, declared that the long history of OPC vis-à-vis its contribution to regional security is not in doubt. 

The communiqué further stressed that the OPC as organisation, will leverage on its rich experience, to support any initiative that will help secure Yorubaland and make it a no-go area to “career criminals and their tribes.” 

The council, while giving its support and commending the Southwest governors on the Operation Amotekun initiative, noted that the newly launched security outfit will complement the security architecture of the region, and the nation at large, as well as boost the security of lives and property in the land. 

The meeting, which was presided over by the Aare Onakakanfo of Yorubaland, Iba Gani Adams, also announced the appointment of new members of the Aare-in- Council and the constitution of an Advisory Council that would further strengthen the activities of the Aare Onakakanfo, among which is the preservation of the tradition, culture, general interest and culture of the Yorubas. 

The new chiefs and members of the advisory council are drawn from various spheres of life, including the academia, clergy, media, business, among others. 

They include: Chief Abiodun Adewale Kuku (Otun Balogun); Mr. Segun Sanni (Basorun); Mrs. Bolanle Kuku (Erelu); Otunba Obafemi Arowosola (Agbaoye); Dr. Gboyega Adejumo (Gbonka); Babajide Tanim (Atoloye); Mrs. Esther Oyebola (Yeye Opeluwa). 

Others are Chief Victor Mobolaji Adewale (Akingbayi); Alhaji Gani Oshidele Wahab (Tunaarese); Hon. Adegboyega Salvador-Adebayo (Otun Aare); Alh. Fatai Adeshina (Opo-Akin); Mrs. Fatai Adeshina (Yeye- Opo Akin); Mr. Akinola Osuntokun (Ajagun-Nla); Chief Bolaji Thomas Jaji (Ikolaba) Hon. Mutiu Olakunle Okunola (Jagun) and Mrs. Bisi Tapere Wahab (Yeye-Tunaarese). 

Members of the Advisory Council of the Aare Onakakanfo of Yorubaland are: Archbishop Ayo Ladigbolu (Chairman); Chief Bolaji Ayorinde (SAN); Professor Anthony Kila; Professor Kemi Rotimi; Dr. Festus Adedayo; Alhaji Wasiu Abiola. 

Others are Mr. Gboyega Solanke; Chief Ishola Fapounda; Sola Ebiseni; Mr. Wale Ojo-Lanre; Mr. Razaq Oladosu Buska; Mr. Richard Akinnola; Mr. Dipo Kehinde; Mr. Gabriel Akinadewo; Mr. Dotun Oladipo and Mr. Yinka Odumakin. 


– AdPone –


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.